Scripture Memory Verse #1

Recently, my boyfriend encouraged me to memorize scripture. So, I thought about the idea and decided it was a pretty good one! I realized to be able to share Christ’s love with others…I need to have scripture memorized to be able to use.

I didn’t really know where to begin with memorizing scripture, but I did have a book called 31 Verses Every Teenager Should Know. The book has devotions for each verse. So, I started with number one: Hebrews 4:12.

Now, I needed different ways to memorize this. I started by doing the books devotion. My boyfriend also shared with me a thing called S.O.A.P. (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) Below is my SOAP for Hebrews 4:12.

S: (scripture) For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. (Hebrews 4:12)

O: (observation) God is living and active and more powerful than anything or anyone else!

A: (application) God should be the main focus of my life! He is more alive than anything or anyone else will ever be!

P: (prayer) Lord, help me to realize when nobody is there you always are! You are the living and active one!!

So, after that, I put an index card with the verse in my agenda for school. I made myself read the verse every time I opened it and closed it. I became very aware of the verse, and this really helped me memorize it!

I also had someone to keep me accountable. Tonight I recited the verse to my boyfriend. He is helping me stay in God’s word, so there’s no one better than him to quiz me!! šŸ™‚

So, I plan on sharing my memory verses with you, maybe you’ll start memorizing some too!

Also, be sure to check out my wonderful boyfriend’s blog, http://unashamedsheep.wordpress.com/! He is so full of insight on many topics! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

