Suffering For Doing Good

Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. “Do not fear what they fear; do not be frightened.” But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. (1 Peter 3:13-15)

While reading my bible before bed the other night, I came across these verses. I love 1 Peter 3 because it talks about suffering for doing good. Whether I’m at school or on a mission trip, I’m persecuted for being a christian and for showing Christ’s love to others.

I wanted to break down parts of this passage and see what they are really saying.

Who is eager to harm you if you are eager to do good? The answer, anyone and everyone who wants to. I go to a public high school. I want to reach my school for Christ! But, one student makes this very hard for me. He loves to pick at me and condemn me for anything that I say that has to do with God. This verse is the heart of this passage, it’s the start for suffering!

But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. I agree with this one hundred percent! Of course, nobody likes to suffer. I consider it an honor to suffer for what’s right and the kingdom of heaven. When you suffer for God, you are blessed. He’s chosen you for this “job,” and he knows you’re strong enough to take it. In the long run, we are doing what all christians are called to do and we will be blessed by our actions!

Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. I participate in a leadership program in the student ministry at my church. This is one thing they focus on! They want us to be able to share with others the hope we have in Christ. That’s exactly what this verse is saying.

I hope these verses will help/persuade you to share Christ’s love with others even in all situations.

One thought on “Suffering For Doing Good

  1. Dad says:

    Very well written. Proud of you!

Leave a Reply

